Dexcom Seven CGM

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 8 Replies | 5 Followers

Top 500 Contributor
2 Posts
Axel posted on Tue, Sep 22 2009 12:49 AM

I am considering obtaining a Dexcom Seven CGM and am wondering if any one has any experience with the device?

Answered (Verified) Verified Answer

Top 150 Contributor
Male
5 Posts
Answered (Verified) rellajeff replied on Tue, Nov 16 2010 8:27 AM
Verified by Axel

I have been using the DexThing for about 3 months.  I do like the device but there are some issues with it and probably with others.  Comparing the Dex with the MiniMed I found that the MM sensors are more expensive and last for three days.  The Dex is cheaper and lasts almost a week.

The Dex varies in how well it monitors sugar.  Some sets have worked pretty well for most of the week.  The first day is variable but then it settles down.  The results are usually good to 20% which isn't too bad since the glucose monitors are only good to 10%.  Some sets have not worked well at all and I have "ripped them out!".  Mostly it is a good indicator of highs and lows.  Trends are also evident.  But to not bolus unless you do a meter stick first.  I have seen sporadic readings off by as much as 100%!

All in all it is a good product that will only get better as the technology matures.  It will soon be paired with the Animas pump in a single unit.  The Animas pump has some issues for me (lots!) and I liked my old MiniMed a lot better.  Hopefully, the new Animas device will correct its many usability problems.

Hope this helps.

Jeff

All Replies

Top 500 Contributor
Female
2 Posts
Answered (Not Verified) bonbon replied on Tue, Sep 29 2009 6:12 PM
Suggested by bonbon