ambrotose

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 15 Replies | 22 Followers

Not Ranked
1 Posts
Rosie posted on Wed, Sep 2 2009 3:19 PM

Hi all.  I'm new to the bboard.  I have a 10 year old recently diagnoses with type 1.  I was reading about ambrotose.  Has anyone looked into using this product?  It was recommended by a friend.  Becuase we are so new into this, I am concerned to give my daugther anything.  Thanks.

All Replies

Top 25 Contributor
Male
63 Posts
Joe replied on Wed, Sep 2 2009 4:55 PM

Rosie:

Hi all.  I'm new to the bboard.  I have a 10 year old recently diagnoses with type 1.  I was reading about ambrotose.  Has anyone looked into using this product?  It was recommended by a friend.  Becuase we are so new into this, I am concerned to give my daugther anything.  Thanks.

If you do an internet search you'll find at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ambrotose

under independent research it says:

Independent research

The body cannot digest Ambrotose, as it lacks the enzymes needed. [6] Prominent glycobiologist Dr Ronald Schnarr of Johns Hopkins told 20/20 in a June 1, 2007 interview, "All of the sugar building blocks that we need in our body are made from the most common foods we eat."[7] Dr Hudson Freeze, another leading glycobiologist[7] said this about glyconutrients: "There are authentic, scientific studies that have looked at people drinking these kinds of materials, and it doesn't really do anything except increase flatulence."[7]

IMHO, it would make more sense to discuss this with your child's Endocrinologist before buying some expensive "sugar" pills.

Joe Buffalo

Type 2 Dx'd 4/98;

"Even if you're on the right track, You'll get run over if you just sit there." -- Will Rogers

Top 10 Contributor
Female
384 Posts
jen1229 replied on Wed, Sep 2 2009 7:04 PM

Joe:

I wholeheartedly agree with you.

Jen  - LevemirConfused and Novalog Wink A1c 5.8

Top 10 Contributor
Female
251 Posts